Compiling from source with Visual Studio 2019

Get help with compiling or installing the game, and discuss announcements of new official releases.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

RatchaTowns

Compiling from source with Visual Studio 2019

Post by RatchaTowns »

Hi, I'm a newbie looking to get into contributing code to Wesnoth for the first time after being a longtime player and lurker. This might not be the right place to put this, and if so, I'm sorry.

I am attempting to use the instructions here to compile the most recent source on Windows.

Try #1: Following instructions exactly:
I forked and cloned the wesnoth repo (to repos/wesnoth on my computer) and then cloned the external repo (to repos/external). I then added external/dll to the system path. I checked out the VC16 branch on the external repo. The wesnoth repo already had a VC16 folder, so I opened the wesnoth.sln in there with Visual Studio 2019. The solution loaded correctly. I then tried to build (configuration Release Win64).

This took almost no time at all and resulted in a lot of repetitions of "...wesnoth\src\boost-patched\bind\arg.hpp(3,10): fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'boost/version.hpp': No such file or directory...". Liblua was the only project that successfully built.

Try #2: Adding paths directly to Visual Studio:
I noticed that the include directories and library directories for each project did not point to external/include and external/lib. So I added those paths to those settings manually and tried to build again (configuration Release Win64).

This approach successfully built an additional project (wesnothlib), but the other three still failed. I ended up getting these errors:
fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file 'libboost_date_time-vc142-mt-x64-1_70.lib'
fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file 'libboost_date_time-vc142-mt-x64-1_70.lib'
fatal error LNK1181: cannot open input file 'libpng16.lib'