How do you compute the cost of new units?

It's not easy creating an entire faction or era. Post your work and collaborate in this forum.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

erelsgl

How do you compute the cost of new units?

Post by erelsgl »

I am studying game development, and particularly interested in mathematical methods for balancing units.

In particular, I would like to ask the faction developers in this forum: when you invent new units, how exactly do you determine their cost? Is it just intuition, or is there some formula or rule-of-thumb that you use?

I understand that the cost may be modified after playtesting, but how do you determine the initial cost (before playtesting)?

Thanks
Ravana
Forum Moderator

Re: How do you compute the cost of new units?

Post by Ravana »

Comparing it to existing units.
erelsgl

Post by erelsgl »

OK, and what if you have a unit with stats that are not identical to any existing unit?
Ravana
Forum Moderator

Post by Ravana »

Look closest weaker and stronger units cost. It only gets complicated with unique abilities and specials, then it is just guessing.
lhybrideur

Post by lhybrideur »

Same for me. I look at similar units or if it doesn't exist look at 1 stronger and 1 weaker and do some kind of mean of both.
IPS

Post by IPS »

Well , there are various things you have to consider about balancing.