Copying array contents to another array

The place to post your WML questions and answers.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
  • Please use [code] BBCode tags in your posts for embedding WML snippets.
  • To keep your code readable so that others can easily help you, make sure to indent it following our conventions.
daniel.santos

Copying array contents to another array

Post by daniel.santos »

Hello again!

I guess this is my first time to get serious with WML and Wesnoth, after all of these years. I tend to make assumptions based upon other languages I've programmed in and that's biting me in the back side! I've searched and read a lot and cannot find a working solution.

I have an array whose elements are container WML "objects" (I think of them as "objects", structs, composite values, whatever). I just want to move or copy them from one array object to another, but nothing I do works. The only thing that comes close is wrong, and that's

Code: Select all

[foreach]
    array=useable_spells
    variable=spell
    [do]
        [set_variables]
            name=use_cast_menu
            mode=append
            [value]
                image=$spell.image
                label="$spell.label"
                description="$spell.description"
                command="$spell.command"
            [/value]
        [/set_variables]
    [/do]
[/foreach]
This is wrong because it can't copy child containers. I just want the objects I have in useable_spells moved or copied into use_cast_menu.

Of course, I'm later adding this array as options to a message command, so I can see that every thing else is working when I use the (incorrect) mechanism above.

[message]
    speaker=narrator
    message= _ "Use which?"
    [option]
        image=check.png
        label=_ "(End)"
        description=_ "uses left"
        [command]
            ... blah blah blah blah
        [/command]
    [/option]
    [insert_tag]
        name=option
        variable=use_cast_menu