Campaign server timing out

Having trouble with the game? Report issues and get help here. Read this first!

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
Before reporting issues in this section, you must read the following topic:
User avatar
turin
Lord of the East
Posts: 11662
Joined: January 11th, 2004, 7:17 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Campaign server timing out

Post by turin »

When i try to upload a new version of Saving Elensefar to the campaign server, i get an error message "connection timed out". However, the new version seems to be on the campaign server anyway. And seems to be about twice as big as it should be. After i click "OK" on the error message, Wesnoth freezes up and i have to kill the process.

What's up with that?
For I am Turin Turambar - Master of Doom, by doom mastered. On permanent Wesbreak. Will not respond to private messages. Sorry!
And I hate stupid people.
The World of Orbivm

scott
Posts: 5242
Joined: May 12th, 2004, 12:35 am
Location: Alexandria, VA

Post by scott »

You're uploading an extra 100kb .png file in the story images directory
If you want to save space, convert the pngs to jpgs at 85-90%. You won't notice the loss.
Otherwise, it appears to have uploaded properly (will update if it didn't)

I like the story images, by the way.
Hope springs eternal.
Wesnoth acronym guide.

MadMax
Posts: 1792
Joined: June 6th, 2004, 3:29 pm
Location: Weldyn, Wesnoth

Post by MadMax »

scott wrote:You're uploading an extra 100kb .png file in the story images directory
If you want to save space, convert the pngs to jpgs at 85-90%. You won't notice the loss.
Otherwise, it appears to have uploaded properly (will update if it didn't)

I like the story images, by the way.
Won't work IIRC, because Wesnoth will only display PNGs.
"ILLEGITIMIS NON CARBORUNDUM"

Father of Flight to Freedom
http://www.wesnoth.org/wiki/FlightToFreedom

User avatar
turin
Lord of the East
Posts: 11662
Joined: January 11th, 2004, 7:17 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by turin »

But my question is, why is it timing out? The campaign still uploads, but it gives an error!
For I am Turin Turambar - Master of Doom, by doom mastered. On permanent Wesbreak. Will not respond to private messages. Sorry!
And I hate stupid people.
The World of Orbivm

scott
Posts: 5242
Joined: May 12th, 2004, 12:35 am
Location: Alexandria, VA

Post by scott »

Liberty's story art are jpg or else it would be a 2 mb dl
Does it time out every time? Have you tried it recently?
Hope springs eternal.
Wesnoth acronym guide.

User avatar
turin
Lord of the East
Posts: 11662
Joined: January 11th, 2004, 7:17 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by turin »

scott wrote:Liberty's story art are jpg or else it would be a 2 mb dl
Does it time out every time? Have you tried it recently?
yes, it times out every time. yet the new version is still uploaded.
For I am Turin Turambar - Master of Doom, by doom mastered. On permanent Wesbreak. Will not respond to private messages. Sorry!
And I hate stupid people.
The World of Orbivm

MadMax
Posts: 1792
Joined: June 6th, 2004, 3:29 pm
Location: Weldyn, Wesnoth

Post by MadMax »

turin wrote:
scott wrote:Liberty's story art are jpg or else it would be a 2 mb dl
Does it time out every time? Have you tried it recently?
yes, it times out every time. yet the new version is still uploaded.
My campaign is 1.5MB, three times the size of yours, and it uploads fine for me. Perhaps it is on your end?

Also, how did you do those storyline images?
"ILLEGITIMIS NON CARBORUNDUM"

Father of Flight to Freedom
http://www.wesnoth.org/wiki/FlightToFreedom

User avatar
turin
Lord of the East
Posts: 11662
Joined: January 11th, 2004, 7:17 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by turin »

MadMax wrote:
turin wrote: yes, it times out every time. yet the new version is still uploaded.
My campaign is 1.5MB, three times the size of yours, and it uploads fine for me. Perhaps it is on your end?
Possibly... i'm not sure how i could check, though.
MadMax wrote:Also, how did you do those storyline images?
Gimp + cut'n'paste + taking screenshots of maps.
For I am Turin Turambar - Master of Doom, by doom mastered. On permanent Wesbreak. Will not respond to private messages. Sorry!
And I hate stupid people.
The World of Orbivm

User avatar
santi
Lord of Wesmere
Posts: 1320
Joined: April 6th, 2004, 12:32 pm

Post by santi »

I had (maybe)the same problem as Turin: Last night(European time) I was able to connect to the campaign server and download two new campaigns. Then I tried to upload
and I got a connection time out. The first time I was able to get out with Ctrl+Backspace, but the second time I had to reboot. I did not try to reconnect. Maybe there was a downtime*(which I doubt) or maybe I had something wrong in the pbl file? Any changes in the pbl file format in 8.8? Maybe post the working pbl files here?

User avatar
santi
Lord of Wesmere
Posts: 1320
Joined: April 6th, 2004, 12:32 pm

Post by santi »

no, I was wrong. It happens just like Turin said. Timeout message, but the campaign is apparently uploaded

User avatar
turin
Lord of the East
Posts: 11662
Joined: January 11th, 2004, 7:17 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by turin »

the timeout thing does NOT happen using 0.8.8. (i'm using that because my CVS is broken). I wonder if its a problem that is only in CVS?
For I am Turin Turambar - Master of Doom, by doom mastered. On permanent Wesbreak. Will not respond to private messages. Sorry!
And I hate stupid people.
The World of Orbivm

User avatar
Elvish_Pillager
Posts: 8129
Joined: May 28th, 2004, 10:21 am
Location: Everywhere you think, nowhere you can possibly imagine.
Contact:

Post by Elvish_Pillager »

turin wrote:the timeout thing does NOT happen using 0.8.8. (i'm using that because my CVS is broken). I wonder if its a problem that is only in CVS?
I'm using 0.8.8, and it happens for me.
It's all fun and games until someone loses a lawsuit. Oh, and by the way, sending me private messages won't work. :/ If you must contact me, there's an e-mail address listed on the website in my profile.

Mkgego
Posts: 436
Joined: April 15th, 2004, 10:26 pm
Location: Madrid , Spain , Europe

Post by Mkgego »

Well I have no problems...

Sure, my campaigns arent so big like yours!

Maybe if I include also 2-3 pictures I get the same problems like you, getting extra XYS kbs for images must slow the upload speed very much ^^...
WoW C-Mode activated...
For the horde :D

User avatar
turin
Lord of the East
Posts: 11662
Joined: January 11th, 2004, 7:17 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by turin »

This was, IIRC, happening before i put in my story images, when it was only 100KB.
For I am Turin Turambar - Master of Doom, by doom mastered. On permanent Wesbreak. Will not respond to private messages. Sorry!
And I hate stupid people.
The World of Orbivm

Guest

Post by Guest »

Yes, EP is right, I also get them using 0.8.8

Post Reply